Skip to content

Greek Aubergine Salad. Melizanosalata. ©

July 26, 2017

What’s Cooking In Jane’s Kitchen Today!!!!!

What's Cooking In Jane's Kitchen

This is a recipe I am most passionate about and it has taken me several tries to get it absolutely as I remember it.
In my youth I knew a dear Lady who made it beautifully and as a child I used to watch her with fascination as she meticulously prepared it, using the traditional Greek wooden pestle and mortar, called a ‘Goudi.’
When one day, much later on I tried to make it, I consulted one or two people , who said,” Oh it is nothing, it is easy!” Always be extra careful when people say that !
Just the smell of the baking aubergines, as they smolder on the coals….. The taste must be smoky, the consistency smooth and full, standing up when pushed with a spoon, like mayonnaise and the flavour of the cold press olive oil, just coming through. The lemon and vinegar must just balance…

View original post 909 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

